Indian e visa updates

As of April 1, India’s e-visa has been subdivided into three categories: e-tourist, e-business and e-medical visas. Previously an e-visa was only available for tourists but now travellers can select the appropriate e-visa.

The duration of stay for the e-visa has also been increased from 30 to 60 days, with double entry on e-tourist and e-business visas and triple entry on e-medical visas.

The window for an e-visa application has been upped from 30 days to 120 days and travellers may apply online for the e-visa a minimum four days in advance of the date of arrival.

Travellers must carry a copy of the Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) during the time of travel and must confirm that the ETA status is shown as β€˜granted’ on the website prior to travel.

Biometric details of the applicant will be mandatorily captured by immigration on arrival in India and agents are advised to warn their clients accordingly.

The e-visa is valid for entry through 24 designated airports: Ahmedabad, Amritsar, Bagdogra, Bengaluru, Calicut, Chennai, Chandigarh, Cochin, Coimbatore, Delhi, Gaya, Goa, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mangalore, Mumbai, Nagpur, Pune, Tiruchirapalli, Trivandrum and Varanasi as well as three designated seaports: Cochin, Goa, Mangalore.