Trump bans all travel from EUROPE

Trump bans all travel from EUROPE

Exactly how the US travel ban on travellers from some European countries will affect South Africans travelling to the US via Europe is unclear, with agents left in the dark.
US President Donald Trump signed a Presidential Proclamation on March 11 suspending the entry of foreign nationals who have been in certain European countries at any point in the 14 days prior to arrival in the US, with immediate effect.

The ban does not apply to legal permanent residents of the US and immediate family members of US citizens.

Agents took to social media asking for advice, and received varying responses.

Tracy Armitage from KLM’s marketing team told eTNW that they were not able to comment on whether South Africans flying to the US via Europe were affected, as they had not received information from head office.

The European countries are from the Schengen Area, which includes: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.” eTNW quote